Limits on the stock ECU

V8hntr

Undersquare
Mar 7, 2007
SoCal
Please dont bash on me I am new to tuning. I wanted to tune my car with SAFC or MAFTPro but wanted to know the limits on the stock ECU. I know from the factory toyota ran the car rich to cool the combustion chamber .

1) What if I remove fuel at a certain RPM and load to make more power. Would the ECU compensate by advancing the timing ?
2) What if I run 25 psi on a capable turbo with large injectors without fuel cutoff. How would the Toyota ECU react to this extrordinary charge?

Mr. Y

Mar 31, 2005
80 miles away from Kremlin
V8hntr said:
Please dont bash on me I am new to tuning. I wanted to tune my car with SAFC or MAFTPro but wanted to know the limits on the stock ECU. I know from the factory toyota ran the car rich to cool the combustion chamber .

1) What if I remove fuel at a certain RPM and load to make more power. Would the ECU compensate by advancing the timing ?
+++ ECU will advance timing if you remove fuel... Actually you don't remove fuel, you say to ECU "engine consumes less air".

2) What if I run 25 psi on a capable turbo with large injectors without fuel cutoff. How would the Toyota ECU react to this extrordinary charge?
+++ Something may blow, bc ECU will see low AFM signal and advance timing too much (like it runs off boost e.g.)...
So, on the one hand running stock ECU with too much piggy-backs is not good idea. On another hand - some people (see 7Mpower.com) make great power on stock ECU.
I wish we can datalog stock timing without any corrections to AFM signal, and same - after some corrections to clarify things... Isn't MAFT-pro timing monitor working yet?

dbsupra90

toonar
Apr 1, 2005
indiucky
highly debated. some say 500+ go stand alone.

from my experience, the ecu is completely capable to support up to 680cc injectors w/ an afc, mafpro, etc. an adjustable fuel pressure regulator helps dial it in as well.

anything bigger than 680cc it had a little trouble dealing with.