Im new to the supras and need some help

champscl

Aug 23, 2008
North Carolina
Im in the middle of my build so please excuse my ignorance Ive got a few questions.

89 7mgte block
arp main studs
arp head studs
upgraded oil pump/return
eagle rods
probe.040 pistons
crane cams springs
ported stock head
q45 TB
lexAFM
550 injectors
ffim
IC

So far this is were Im @ in my build Im picking up my short block this week
so heres my question.

1. If I get my ct26 rebuilt to a 57 trim what kind of horsepower should expect. (My goal is 450+)

2. What will I need as far as electronics for my ecu I would like suggestions for a perfect Piggy back setup so I can start acquireing them.

3. Anything else anyone can fill me in on would be greatly appreciated.

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Aug 26, 2005
Roll Tide
That sounds like a great start to a perfectly streetable car. Their is a piggyback section on here somewhere and numerous threads about the upgraded ct26 turbos. I don't know the answer to your questions or I would have answered them.

I used an SAFCII for a little over a year and I made 437rwhp on my 7mgte, but I wouldn't say that it was the perfect answer. Good luck.

nosman4

Nov 10, 2007
Bend, Oregon
If you're talking 450+ in crank hp, then that should be attainable. 450rwhp is a little high for a 57trim. I'm putting down 377rwhp and 400rwtq with a 57 trim at 15psi. Good luck with your build. SAFC-II is what I'm using, but I will say it's far from the perfect answer. SAFC's are a crude tuning tool that works, but it definately has it's flaws.

gaboonviper85

Supramania Contributor
Jan 13, 2008
Northeast Philly