fuel pump question

SupraBro

so i went to start my car for the first time today after my build and no luck:3d_frown:.......everything seems good but no fuel. this is my first time cranking the car, the guy i bought it from drove it home and parked it for like 3 years because of a blown h/g....so i turn the key on and you dont hear the fuel pump at all....im not a noob whean it comes to wires so i got my meter and started checking things...i notice that there is no 12v going to the fuel pump relay....so i went from the batt strait to the rear of the car to the fuel pump with a 15amp and it just sparks and pops fuse...so i guess my question is if the fuel pump is broke or locked up is that normal?...and is there something before the relay that sences the fuel pump is bad and stops sending 12v to the relay...all fueses are good...put my fluke on ohm's and the all read great...just wanting to make shure something else is not messed up because that relay is not getting 12v...thanks for taking the time to read this, need help!!

supradjza80

Mr. Formula SAE
Apr 24, 2007
Appleton, WI
www.uwracing.com
Don't quote me but I am pretty sure that unless you are cranking the car the fuel pump does not receive power. To send power to the pump you need the key in the ON position and need to jumper Fp and +B terminals in the diagnostic block. See if you pump gets power by doing this.

SupraBro

well i went strait to the fuel pump with 12v....it just pops my fuse...so im shure my pump is out...but my question is since that relay is not getting power is something else out as well??....does something go in protect???..does the relay only get 12v during crank and not with just the key to the on position??....^^^^thanks for your help!!!

supraguy@aol

Dec 30, 2005
Atlanta
I believe that the relay will get power during cranking and for a second or two after. But if the car does not start, the power to the pump drops off.(JetJock can tell you for sure)