"Don't fix it unless it's broken"

TomatoSupra

Good afternoon, Last summer i bought an 88 5 speed 7M-GE Supra (133,XXX) and i am trying to decide what to do with it right off the bat. I have already had my timing belt EXPLODE in my cover, so i dont have to worry about that anymore lol, and i have done two oil changes before i put it in the garage for the winter. Being that it is put away for the winter, is there anything i should seriously consider doing? This question stems out of the fact that i have been doing a lot of learking today, and have seen TONS of stuff about BHG's.

TL;DR If there is not any problem currently with my head gasket, should i worry about it?

Thanks,

Dan

::bhg::

80083r

Testing is always a good idea - there are ways to tell if your headgasket is blown.

I'm not an expert - but:
i) compression test
ii) leakdown test
iii) some magical thing I can't remember the name of where you test the ph of your coolant/oil (somebody help me out there, please)

TomatoSupra

Well, there's no evidence right now that there is any problems, and that's where my question goes back to. I'm just wondering if there is any preventative maintenance i can do, or if its just better to replace it now and be done with it.

suprafreak123

Oct 23, 2013
Costa mesa
I would would check oil leaks and have those fix.Also do compression test just to see how it stand on all cylinders.Next would do preventive maintenance spark plugs,cable,air filter,fuel filter,oil change ect.......Every car need some loving and they would always run right.Dont fall into the BS where 7m garbage.The are incredible engines .

TomatoSupra

I agree. It was just killing me reading through the forums because every other post is about a BHG and now i feel like im sitting on a ticking time bomb hahaha.