7mgte Oil Leak, Lucas Oil Treatment or Not?

755hp

Goal - 755hp
Jul 19, 2012
Tri-State Area & MI
Keep in mind, I'm a newbie.

Alright, so I finally got a Supra. Its a 1988 Mk3 Turbo Targa 5sp w/ 107,000+ miles completely stock. However, its leaking oil. The previous owner said he stopped driving it over the summer so maybe the cam seals or front main seals swelled up or something. He gave me the valve cover and oil pan gaskets when I bought it. So being that it leaks, I've been topping it off with high mileage synthetic 10W-30 oil as I drive to and from school.

Someone recommended lucas oil treatment as a temporary fix. Should I try that for now till I can find where its leaking from? Also, its really cold where I'm at (upstate NY) and I've been reading about how 10W-30 oil is too thick on start ups; any recommendations on oils for 0 to 30 deg F weather?

755hp

Goal - 755hp
Jul 19, 2012
Tri-State Area & MI
atmperformance;1985830 said:
I'm say maintenance > chemical treatment. clean up the engine find what's leaking, replace needed seals.

I'm definitely in favor of maintenance but I'm a little worried about power washing the engine as water can seep into unwanted areas. I'm guessing its the front main seal or cams seals. There seems to be a lot of oil around the crank pulley.

IMG_1350.jpg

SideWinderGX

Aug 8, 2007
Syracuse, New York, United States
Remember: the first number dictates the weight of the oil at cold temperatures (32*F), the second number dictates the weight of the oil at operating temperatures (~212*F). Like jetjock said, something with a lower weight (5-30 or 0-30) would be fine for winter.

Doh, I lied earlier...I use 0-40 Mobil 1.

I see you've made a post in the oil subsection, there's tons of useful information there. jetjock knows his stuff and has posted enough in that section alone to keep anyone reading for a few days.

Oct 11, 2005
Thousand Oaks, CA