3uz 87

85celicasupra

spokane supra owner
Mar 9, 2008
spokane,wa
forums.celicasupra.com
Im gonna sum this up pretty short, and will have pictures up on monday.

This is not MY personal car but a car I am building. I am a current student in the toyota TTEN program for toyota dealership tech training, and my teacher has a couple cars sitting in the back lot that we decided I could play with.

One is a 1987 Toyota supra hardtop. Interior is completely stripped, engine bay as well.
One is a perfectly complete 2002 Lexus LS430 with a 3uz.

Where I am at currently is the engine is bolted in the car, exhaust manifolds are on and ready for the rest of the exhaust. I am getting ready to dive into wiring.

Engine harness is installed on the engine and ran/plugged into ecu ready to go (its all pretty much self contained, which was nice). The wiring I do have to work with tho, is the fuse panels, and all the other BS that the Lexus had that the supra does not, skid control, abs, airbags, etc. There is a bunch of it.
With my trusty library of Factory Toyota and Lexus repair manuals and EWD's at my side, I started into labling the plugs and sub harnesses today so I can see what stays and goes.

This will be fairly slow going as I only get to work on it, at lunch, when I dont have any live work in the shop, or before and after school. Luckily curriculum this quarter is electrical so atleast I can still say I am working on the correct curriculum.

Stay tuned.

Chambers

Now you know
Sep 9, 2007
Baltimore County, Maryland
I'm wondering if the donor LS430 had that new style ECM that requires the correct key and anti theft ecu to run. If it doesn't them wiring shouldn't be that bad.

What transmission is going behind this beast?

85celicasupra

spokane supra owner
Mar 9, 2008
spokane,wa
forums.celicasupra.com