1JZ Idle Drops With AC on Then Stalls Out

cyrusthegreat

Aug 3, 2010
Blythe, California
I did the R-134a conversion this past week and I'm happy to report that the A/C now blows cold air. However as the title states, my idle drops to about 300 - 400 then stalls out while idling. Otherwise my car runs great without the AC on. I've tried searching and I found some posts regarding the IACV but I'm not sure this will fix the problem, but I'm willing to try cleaning or checking it. I called Aaron at Driftmotion (did my swap years back) and he thinks that it's the signal from the compressor to the ECU. I am a super newbie at all things electrical and I now have moved far away from any shops that I trust to do this. Can anyone tell me how to check this? I do have a voltmeter and my glove box is already off. Any advice or links to info is greatly appreciated.

To be more concise, I need to know how to test if my ECU is getting the right signal or if it is even wired up. So, I'm hoping that someone can tell me in very simple terms where on the ECU I should check for a wire/pin/connector and perhaps how to test for resistance or if its getting electricity. I've always struggled with electrical work (including understanding wiring diagrams) but I am learning more with each project I tackle. Thank you SupraMania Electrical Gurus in advance.

Terms I tried in the 'Other Engines' Sub Forum
AC, A/C Air Conditioning, Idle, Drop, Up, IACV, Stalls, Dies
I figured this is the right place to post this since I have a TT 1JZ-GTE

Last edited:

tlo86

Ninja Editor 'Since 05'
Jul 24, 2005
Colorado
im curious if you ever got this resolved? these posts get old fast...

i highly doubt its a wiring issue right of the bat.. as nothing would make the car die just make the a/c not work.

but you converted to r134a how did you do this? what are all of the steps you took when doing it...
if i were to tell someone to do it..