1jz harness, extend or reroute?

Arrest_me_red

Aug 2, 2010
Toledo Ohio
So i was getting all set up to extend my harness and just wanted to double check the extension length of 18" and i saw that there was a way to re route the harness to go through an enlarged speedo hole.

Is this true? im surprised i just now found out about this, i've been researching 1jz's for quite a few months now!

If this is a legit mod then can i have a little more detail? thanks!

nctexan

Nov 30, 2009
Houston
If I was going to go back and do it over, I would have taken my time and extended my harness to run it through the US harness hole in the firewall. I drilled a hole through the firewall. Allthough much quicker, I now have a hole in my firewall right next to my legs, which is a risk in itself in the event of engine fire, not to mention a path for normal engine heat to dump into the cabin. Plus you have to find a place for the ECU in an already crowded area (mine is squeezed in under my radio), which is not ideal. When I go single I will weld up the hole, and extend the harness. So if I were you I'd just take the time to extend it now, especially if you are already prepared to do so.

lewis15498

Don't blame ebay cheapass
Sep 28, 2008
Raynham, Massachusetts, United States
If you are good with wires, extend it, its definitely the better route. If you think you are gonna screw it up, It may be better to have someone else do it or to cut a hole. That said I cringe at cutting holes, and if you do, try to find a gasket or a plug to fill the hole.

Arrest_me_red

Aug 2, 2010
Toledo Ohio
Thank you very much for your input! I will go ahead and extend the harness, 18" correct? now with the body connectors, i should cut the ones off my 7m harness right?

te72

Classifieds Moderator
Staff member
Mar 26, 2006
WHYoming