Shifter question??

MK3_Turbo

JZZ31
Mar 31, 2005
Arkansas
www.myspace.com
i was just wondering...does chopping down the shifter really help?? or should i just go with a short throw shifter...they cost so much though!:nono: i found a short throw shifter on ebay for like $150+s/h but not sure if it is good.

ohh yeah..another question my supra seems to smoke when i rev it up..the smoke is white...is that suppose to be normal?? i'm still pretty new to supras..i dont really know it does that. it also smoked when i raced my cousin's civic Si on the highway..i of course pull him and then he told that there was smoke coming out when i let off the gas to slow down. i only pushed it to like 5k rpm.

Last edited:

tubbie

Yes, powerful Jedi....
Apr 4, 2005
Hoschton, GA
Choping the shifter makes shifting shorter, but a whole lot harder to shift. Search for the IS300 B&M shifter mod, I think that is the best ss for under $200.

BHG.............. :bigthumb:

supratkfy

Mar 30, 2005
San Francisco
yea cutting the shifter makes it hard to shift and isn't really making the throws shorter...the c's is a good short throw shifter but just cost too much....i've been wanting onebut don't wanna pay the $300

as for the white smoke, that means coolant, water...was teh MHG installed by you? check to make sure the car is not overheating, check the coolant to see if it has milky paste to it....

Sonex2000

Apr 3, 2005
You don't have to cut the stock shifter. If you take a blow torch to the black plastic part on the top of the shifter. You can actually take it off all together. After that you can get an after market shifter knob....or making threading on the new shifter. and viola!!! shortshifter. COST: 15min and a blowtorch.

Note: make sure you got some wrenches. b/c that shit get hot QUICK!!

thanks Yonkers87T

BoostFreak

Nov 11, 2005
Ohio
no the turbo shot would be blue or oil smoke and you would see alot of oil in your intake.
smoke colors
black-rich the smeell burns your eyes and nose