Planning 2014 Standalone Upgrade - Question...

Grandavi

Sep 25, 2008
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I want to go stand alone on my 7MGTE in 2014. So, I am doing reading/research and I want to know a couple things.

First, technically I am not a mechanic although I have rebuilt engines, I do not do my mechanical work on my 88 MK3. Everything major has and is being done by RCTS in Calgary.

Secondly, this is the current engine configuration

550 RC injectors
57 Trim CT26 (from DM)
Raptor Racing DDP (flex pipe removed, no cats on this car)
7MGTE - rebuilt head, rebuilt short block with no EGR (deleted), Wiseco pistons, polished rods and OEM bearings, shimmed oil pump, Cometic Metal HG and ARP head studs
HKS 3" catback twinpipe exhaust
Stock Intercooler
LIPP Lexus AFM upgrade (using OEM paper filter currently with OEM airbox)
HKS 3000 pipe with modified intake pipe attached, but still stock bov
AEM UEGO Wideband
AEM AFPR (DM) with 7 pipe block off, all stainless braided fuel lines
MKIV Denso fuel pump in tank
Spec 2+ Clutch
R154 (stock from tranny back to diff)
HKS EVC-S Boost controller
Greddy Turbo-timer (not really useful.. but its there)

Engine-wise almost all hoses are replaced and wiring has been gone through and cleaned up. Coax going to knock sensors. The engine bay was gone over pretty closely to prevent any tiny things from giving me headaches later on.

So, I do want to upgrade the intercooler and am considering the DM upgrade. However the Stand alone system is alot more diverse for options so I am asking "those that know" for some input.

I will not be putting it on myself, and I will not be self-tuning. I want it set up and be done with it, this car wont see the track. The big issue is I will be going from mountain driving to sea level as I plan to drive the car cross country twice in my lifetime. (its my bucketlist thingy... lol)