Votes: 14 82.4%
  • Bottom

Votes: 3 17.6%

• Total voters

zambini

Jan 16, 2008
Detroit, MI
Hi all,

Im currently a student at the Cleveland Institute of Art, pursuing a degree in Automotive Design. This summer, I'm working on a self-proposed, independent project that aims to design the Supra that never was: the mk5.

My goals for the project are as follows:

Create an automobile that remains true to its heritage as a Supra, considering established design cues, package details, and power train history (i-6 turbo with clutching manual transmission). The new Supra must also take the brand forward into a new iteration of design language, without abandoning the key design elements of the past. Utilize advanced, contemporary lines, form language and surfacing to create a unique automobile that feels new and exciting, in a way that incites the same passion and elegance as previous Supra generations.

After weeks of sketching and ideation (which will be compiled into the final presentation), I have arrived at two key proportions in side view. I'm posting these renderings as an attempt to gain insight from a demographic that is most integral to the finalization of the mk5 Supra project: THE ESTABLISHED SUPRA COMMUNITY!!

attachment.php

Please vote on which proposal you like best, and feel free to provide commentary on your decision. Any further input is also encouraged!

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Aaron

Attachments

• supra side test..jpg
    supra side test..jpg
    209.5 KB · Views: 386

zambini

Jan 16, 2008
Detroit, MI
Honestly, im leaning toward the top version.. shorter wheelbase, tighter package, meaner lines. The top proportion focuses more on bringing the brand language into a new era of design and surfacing.

The bottom version is more of a grand touring package, with longer overhangs, more classical lines and forms. The bottom one also leans more toward honoring its heritage, and includes more design cues from previous supra generations.