lots of ?'s vacuum-bhg-how to fix

z287mgte

Nov 18, 2008
ohio
First off i am new to car's kinda. so please give detail. My boost gauge says i am at -10 vacuum(i know i should be around -20) i am trying to find out why its so low. I have tried carb cleaner over many of the vac lines and such, but got no where.(would a leak from any where before the tb cause a leak(like the hard piping))... also if there is a bhg will i see a big loss in power? b/c she is running like a champ..(no over heat-no smoke).the vac pressure has been like this for a while but just found out its not supposed to be like that so trying to fix it.. I get 21+ mpg upgrades 550-lexus, hard piping, intake exhaust, 12 lbs boost. thanks for any help you can give.(I tried looking else where but was mission failure):1zhelp:

carter

"The Ninja"
Nov 1, 2005
Ohio
www.myspace.com
IF you believe you have a bhg at anytime, just take off the oil cap and see if you see a white ring. you can also tell by checking your oil, if there's white in your oil, you got a bhg.

outside of the stuff above, i have no clue but figured i'd let you kno, a lil way to check and see...

also you'd see a loss of power and it'd over heat.
Carter, J.

grimreaper

Jul 2, 2008
Dallas
if you can see coolant/ water mix with the oil, id suspect you'd be VERY lucky to save the bearings. supracentral has stated that a measly 400ppm of coolant and oil mix will eat the bearings, and that if you can see it, its most likely in the 10,000 ppm range.
a block tester will rule that out in a matter of seconds.

Many tests have shown that as little as 0.04% (400 PPM) water in lubricating oil can cut the fatigue life of bearings by as much as 48%. -SC

Last edited:

DangoAZ

Driver
Jun 13, 2007
Flagstaff, AZ
There are a couple of things to consider before jumping to the bhg conclusion... What could cause your low vacuum? It could be (among other things):

- Boost gauge doesn't read properly?