I need to pick between Maftpro and standalone

toml

Jul 24, 2005
Adelaide, Australia
Okay, so I'm still new to the whole car mechanics/tuning/modding thing... and now I'm stuck. :)

I've rebuilt the 7M in my daily driver after BHG, with a metal head gasket, ARP head studs, ARP conrod bolts, new semi-forged pistons, bearings, machined head, crank, rods, etc.

I've been planning for months now to pick up a MAFT Pro before I start modding too much more, so I can tune and log my engine as I add things.
I like the MAFT Pro's ability to auto-tune from a wideband sensor, manage boost, monitor timing, convert to MAP sensing etc.

What I find discerning is the fact that the MAFT Pro is still just a piggyback. It is altering the stock ECU's inputs/outputs, making it perform a tast for which it was not designed.

I'd love to run a standalone but I'm concerned about a few things.
  • Cost -- As far as I can see, the cost of purchasing and tuning the standalone would be about twice as much as a MAFT Pro. Is it really going to be worth it, when the MAFT Pro accomplishes the same outcome?
  • Goals -- My long term goal is 500RWHP (whether that's achievable for me or not ;)), so the ECU I purchase would have to be capable of tuning to 500HP. How will the MAFT Pro+stock ECU cope at this level?
  • Tuning -- The advantage of the maft pro being a piggyback, is that it can still rely on the stock ECU for a base tune. If I were to install a piggyback, I would have to get a base tune running first, then modify as necessary. I myself am not capable of setting up a base tune (although I would be willing to learn). Is the MAFT really going to be _that_ much easier to setup/learn how to tune?
  • Reliability -- I know the MAFT Pro is a quality product, but is running a standalone ECU going to be any better than the MAFT, and if so, will that be worth it?
  • Suggestions -- If I was to go standalone, could anyone recommend a product that seems to fit my needs?