California Emissoins Help!

Dragonlilly

Scarletgypsy
Jan 24, 2007
Pittsboro, NC
Hey, I was wondering if anyone here is from California and how I might be able to get my car to pass emissions. I have a '89 Mk III with a 2jz GE swap. It is currently running on 7M electronics. I am leaving the normal emission stuff on there but does anybody have an exact idea of what I may need to do to get it to pass emissions in CA? I can't stand the thought of not having my baby with me! :)

suprageezer

Aug 27, 2005
Southern California
I recently spoke with an owner of a smog shop and he told me the best way to get your car legal is make sure all the smog equipment is on there and go see a referee and get a certificate.

figgie

Supramania Contributor
Mar 30, 2005
Twin Cities, Minnesot-ah
supraman7mgte;957043 said:
Im no pro,but would possibly be the prob be with the 2j running on 7m electronics?

umm yes!

Three things are really needed

Fuel air and the motor.

The sensors. If you use 7m sensors on a v8. It will work.

DragonLilly

make sure to use 93 as the model year of the supra. 84 is when they went to OBDII and you will fail if they plug in.

edit: 94 not 84!!

Last edited:

suprageezer

Aug 27, 2005
Southern California
I think Fig and Supraman are right I seem to rememebr the smog guy saying you need the electronics from the newer engine. He also said he has passed many with engine swaps like that that were certified by a referee and done right.

Dragonlilly

Scarletgypsy
Jan 24, 2007
Pittsboro, NC
Ok thanks everyone! I just realized I do have the 2J electronics not the 7M electronics. I wasn't paying attention properly I guess::dunce::

Dragonlilly

Scarletgypsy
Jan 24, 2007
Pittsboro, NC