400hp or bust

TheMechanic253

Aug 11, 2014
Puyallup
Hello! I am new to Supra Mania but I frequent other car forums for my other vehicles. I just picked up a 1990 Supra Turbo. I paid $1200 for this car and bought it from a buddy of mine that recently rebuilt the engine, then when he went to start it, blew a head gasket.

I have experience working on engines. I built a 12.5:1 Compression Honda engine in my daily driver, but I'm a grease monkey and couldn't pass up this car for the price.

I will be posting up more pictures as I get under way with my build. I already pulled the engine and disassembled it, I'm awaiting a call back from the machine shop about the conditions of my parts.

The cylinder head is cracked near the coolant jackets on cyl. 2,3,4. I figure Ill end up buying another cylinder head soon.

Well cheers!

755hp

Goal - 755hp
Jul 19, 2012
Tri-State Area & MI
IndigoMKII;2020210 said:
What engine? 400 hp can be made fairly easily.

Really?? Right now I have an Apexi Intake, full 3" DM downpipe and exhaust along with (not yet installed) RX7 550cc injectors and a Lexus afm. I'm on the stock ct26 with a Grimmspeed Mbc set to 10-11psi.

If I install my lex/550s how much Hp could I be around??

TheMechanic253

Aug 11, 2014
Puyallup
I've read that the stock fuel pump is capable of 500hp. I will get a walbro, but I've heard people do it. Also I am looking for some Lexus 550cc injectors. Does anyone recommend larger cc's for 400hp?

It is a stock bore 7mgte. The previous owner had the block honed, bought new piston rings, bearings, shimmed oil pump, new water pump, timing belt etc. The machine shop told me that he would certainly run the crank that was in it. It's slightly on the looser side of spec, but it was polished and cleaned recently.

I just bought new ARP Head studs. The dude built it with ARP bolts! :3d_frown: