What would cause this Nightmare!

supersupramk3

average joe
Mar 29, 2009
sacramento, CA
I have an 89t, had my blown head gasket replaced at a local shop about 6 months ago. At the most I probably put on 400 miles on the new Felpro head gasket. Im real cautious and have been babying the motor the whole time. He seemed really knowledgeable and was pretty confident about the job. Then 4 days ago I look down at my dash and I was pinned past (H). I pulled over and was overheating badddd! I had the car towed home and looked under the oil cap...all milky oooze. Another Nightmare has happened. I took the car back and the mechanic said it was not his fault. He refused to repair the damages because he only has a 90 day warranty. Now I'm screwed out of $1500. This time Im planning to do this myself. Question? Look at the pictures to see if this was installation error on the mechanic OR is my motor so warped that it caused it. Im very new to head/block issues so help me out fellas! I also have never uploaded photos...so let me try. lol *no luck*

basically the whole exhaust side has a pushed up or bunched up on the coolant passages!

Attachments

• 100_0415.JPG
    100_0415.JPG
    84.5 KB · Views: 80
Last edited:

grimreaper

Jul 2, 2008
Dallas
what all did the mechanic do exactly? tq specs, check head warpage etc....

That milk shake oil you have would have ME saying screw it and pull the whole thing for a rebuild. Tha amount of oil/coolant mix is eating those bearings like a fat kid with cake...

At the very least jdubs balls to the wall kerosene flush should be done...

Flateric

Mar 26, 2008
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
I think I read somewhere that it only takes 2% water in your oil to reduce it's ability to lubricate by 50%. So ya, I'd get the oilly milkshake outa there asap. Your overflow tank, was it pumped right to the top?

grimreaper

Jul 2, 2008
Dallas
^ 400ppm, if you can see it, its in the thousands of parts per million...

Commentary on rod knock after a HG swap