What do I need to get before I swap?

Neodeuccio

Addicted to boost...
Sep 30, 2006
Schenectady NY
Ok, I have an 88 turbo with a blown engine. I also have a rebuilt engine that I got from another member that I'm planning on putting in to get her back on the road. But I've never done a swap before, so I'm trying to make sure I don't get caught unprepared. It's a direct 7mgte-for-7mgte replacement, so I shouldn't need anything special, but are there any gaskets or seals or anything that I need to make sure I have on hand before I start?

Thanks!

Neodeuccio

Addicted to boost...
Sep 30, 2006
Schenectady NY
Koenigturbo;1546736 said:
I would suggest maybe a exhaust gasket, oil, anti freeze, and beer.

Exhaust gasket: good call. I hadn't thought about that one. I've got the beer and other fluids already.

IJ.;1546902 said:
Take Terri to the Airport ;)

That doesn't help at all! She's volunteered to be the beer bitch!

Neodeuccio

Addicted to boost...
Sep 30, 2006
Schenectady NY
Do you still have my address, or should I send it again?
But seriously, what do I need?

(I'd love to stay and banter, but it's time to go get drunk. I'll catch you later buddy.)

shaeff

Kurt is FTMFW x2!!!!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Mar 30, 2005
Around
Neodeuccio;1546729 said:
Ok, I have an 88 turbo with a blown engine. I also have a rebuilt engine that I got from another member that I'm planning on putting in to get her back on the road. But I've never done a swap before, so I'm trying to make sure I don't get caught unprepared. It's a direct 7mgte-for-7mgte replacement, so I shouldn't need anything special, but are there any gaskets or seals or anything that I need to make sure I have on hand before I start?

Thanks!