Welding on the stock intake manifold?

Rennat

5psi...? haha
Dec 6, 2005
Tracy, CA
www.myspace.com
So i now have access to a TIG welder, not exactly sure what the specs are. Its at a friends shop/house/garage setup. But i want to modify the stock manifold into a FFIM... im going to be getting either one from the FS section, ebay, or the junkyard...

but my question is what filler rod do i use? i have no idea what the oem intake manifold is made out of... and i figure one of you will have an idea.

Also, what tungsten rod would i use? Im use to mig welding... so im rather new to the whole tungsten thing.

Any other tips, or advice would be great. Im going to have a new TB flance CNC'ed for me... any suggestions on what i should make that out of either?

adampecush

Regular Supramaniac
May 11, 2006
Edmonton
my only advice would be to be prepared to ruin a few manifolds before putting one together correctly. Aluminum isn't particularly easy to weld, and the fact that it is cast doesn't help matters (due to the porosity). It is extremely easy to burn through, especially if you are used to welding steel with a mig setup.

As for the electrode, thoriated tungsten would work.

I made my intake flange from 6061-T6 (no longer t6 after the welding...). No idea what filler was used as I had someone else do the welding.
p1170225_1.jpg

figgie

Supramania Contributor
Mar 30, 2005
Twin Cities, Minnesot-ah
The stock Turbo Intake Manifold is Aluminum and thick aluminum. Requires ALOT of power from the welder to get it to weld GOOD.

Have a manufacture and model of the welder in question? Perhaps a COLOR? :)

jetjock

creepy-ass cracka
Jul 11, 2005
Redacted per Title 18 USC Section 798