Toyota HG design and power capability?

SupraTurbo1989

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, Illinois
Hi guys. I heard that Toyota had updated their head gasket design a couple times since the 7M came out. Is the newest one the same type of material and quality on the 2J? How much power can the new 7M head gasket from Toyota hold with some ARP's?

The reason I ask is because I will probably be doing the head gasket this winter along with rebuilding the head but I don't have the option of pulling the block and taking it to a machine shop. I have also heard the Cometic MHG is very forgiving and can seal if you wetland the block very smooth since it has a rubberized coating.

I am not sure how true this information is so please forgive me, I probably sound like a total newb.

Thanks
Jeff

SupraTurbo1989

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, Illinois
airhead04;1630439 said:
Wasnt necessarily the design of the hg, but the torque of the head. Toyota only torqued the head down to about 56ft/tq, when it really needed about 72-80 ft/tq.

Hmm, I swear I heard that Toyota changed the head gasket design for the 7M a number of times since it was released.

rakkasan

Currahee!!
Mar 31, 2005
Fort Campbell, KY
the 7M head gasket has always been made of composite material, never metal as the 2J's. It failed because the lack of torque as airhead pointed out

IJ.

Grumpy Old Man
Mar 30, 2005
I come from a land down under
airhead04;1630439 said:
Wasnt necessarily the design of the hg, but the torque of the head. Toyota only torqued the head down to about 56ft/tq, when it really needed about 72-80 ft/tq.

They changed materials way back from an asbestos based HG and that's where the Tq setting became screwed as the Non asbestos HG's need more clamp force to stay compressed.

There have been quite a few "revisions" over the years.

SupraTurbo1989

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, Illinois
IJ.;1630460 said: