tips for machining

Avicii

Nov 4, 2011
Next door
Well i finally have my GE engine out and have my GTE engine ready to go in but after reading many post's i have decided to do the whole metal HG but i would like to know what steps i need to take in order for this to be successful.This is my first time doing any kind of engine work so i want to make sure i have everything in order, so my questions are

1. what do i need to do before i take the head and block to the machine shop?

2. what questions should i ask the shop so i don't sound like a dummy?

3. i just read about getting the head hardened tested which i was not even aware you could do is there any other little things i should do?

4. while i have everything out what else should i check?

i am mainly going for at least 300hp nothing serious just a fun DD, may sound odd but i have even written down my steps to getting this swap to go as smoothly as possible lol

KTM530

Supramania Contributor
Jan 24, 2011
santa rosa
Well if you read some older posts from some of the more tech inclined guys around hear they will read that your power goal is fine for the stock gasket. With that being said. Go back and Search MHG. Not trying to be a dick but this has been covered lots o times. In breaf: Bag and tag all parts on dissambley. Use the TSRM http://www.cygnusx1.net/ on dissambley. You can't go wrong if you follow all steps. As for the machinist call around and ask if they have a torque plate (google torque plate so you know what it is) remember head, block and timming plate all need to be cut. " just a tip if the machine shop is all dirty and in chaos I would not use them, a nice clean shop means good work in my experience.
Hope it all works out! "sorry it seems the link to the TSRM is inop, maybe somone around here has one that works"

Last edited:

IndigoMKII

May 9, 2011
Madison, Virginia