solidworks/autocad question

williamb82

Apr 24, 2005
Tampa, Fl.
ok, ive got solid works 07 and will be drawing up my t56 adaptor plate soon. need to dig the r154 and t56 out of storage for a ton of needed measurements. anyway, the file type on the sw is a .sldp something(dont recall it off the top of my head and forgot to write it down last night). will this work for shops that need a cad file? if not can it be converted? reason im asking is because part deign is 3d, so i am gonna set the thickness to 3/8ths of an inch, the thickness of the steel plate i intend to use. would this be a problem for a cnc water jet or laser? its just a flat plate that needs cut out. im still new to this so want to be sure i get it setup right. i know there is a separate sheetmetal tool i havent dealt with yet that i also have installed. just wondering if i should be usin that instead maybe or if im ok with the one i am already learning to use?

annoyingrob

Boosted member
Jul 5, 2006
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
It would be best to ask the machine shop what they want.

I remember when I made up some CT12A flanges, the machine shop I was talking to wanted I believe a standard .dwg file, I THINK it was 2d.

Some online places have software on their websites that will convert your files into the format they want.

williamb82

Apr 24, 2005
Tampa, Fl.
guess i need to start calling shops and seeing which one can use the file type i have or at least covert what i gotto what they need.

americanjebus

Mr. Evergreen
Mar 30, 2005
wa.
As far as sending something to the machine shop to get measurements off of i'd consider making an edrawing from solid works of what you want. Sort of a 2d blue print of the piece you want with all of the dimensions with it. That way if they dont have solidworks they can still read it just using edrawing which is free.

I dont know what format is most common for CNC shops though so yea you would have to ask.

williamb82

Apr 24, 2005
Tampa, Fl.