Riced supra help

Pikkonslaw

Oct 11, 2013
Drew mississippi
I bought a riced out 88 turbo supra and I'm new to the import cars. The car has a was sitting for a while with a blown head gasket which I have found to be a regular problem. The guy I got it from said he replaced it with a metal gasket and torqued it to 75. But it still has a slight miss I plan on getting it looked at at a local import performance shop but I was wandering what can be done to these cars to get a good bit of hp without spending too much money and how to build it to be dependable image.jpg

emiliorescigno

Supramania Contributor
Sep 17, 2006
Woodbury, MN
Best three things you can do to the car.
1. Catch up 100% on all maintenance items.
2. Put a quality 3" Turbo-back exhaust on.
3. Clean it thoroughly.

Dan_Gyoba

Turbo Swapper
Aug 9, 2007
Alberta
www.gyoba.com
75 ft-lbs is as high as you would ever want to go with the stock bolts, and for even moderately upgraded engines, is fine. (72 is the number that Reg Reimer came up with having the stock bolts tested as keeping them in their elastic region, and more than that will stretch the bolt, resulting in less clamping force.)

IF the head gasket job was done correctly, you should be fine there. If it was done without machining the block and head properly, then a metal head gasket will not seal correctly.

As for the "rice" -- while I would personally not choose that colour or the vinyls, I don't think that it looks that bad. Better if there's something under the hood to back it up though. Get your engine running well, then start with the power adders, and you can have a very fun car to drive.

Pikkonslaw

Oct 11, 2013
Drew mississippi