remote mount turbo sizing

taka21

Feb 16, 2008
washington dc
Hey everyone i have a new project idea that im playing with and i need some info (and i dont really trust my math)
im currently running a 97 1uzfe engine in my supra and im looking to go turbo, however there is a catch... i want to go remote turbo and i want to use a holset brand turbocharger.

ive been reading through the info on here and i would like to figure out how to properly size a turbo for this engine and application
im looking for boost to come in at around 2800rpm and my rev limiter kicks in at about 6200 rpm

im still a little new to turbos so please bear with me as i learn

taka21

Feb 16, 2008
washington dc
Poodles;1649781 said:
Remote mounts tend to be quite laggy. Not to mention requiring scavenging pumps to drain them, piping issues, ect...

yes but remember im running a v8 and i would like just a bit of lag so i can drive it out of boost . the other thing is that im not shooting for big hp numbers either im just looking for right around 400bhp from this setup witch should be like 380 or so to the wheels.
the last thing is that i redline at 6500 rpm so im looking for a turbo that will be efficient from 2800 to just short of the redline.
ive been reading a lot of articles on the subject but i cant seem to find the equations that will give me what im looking for.
i want to size the turbo correctly for the application which means i have to take into account the position of the turbo and the loss of heat energy from mounting it so far back among other things.
all the calculators ive found were for front mount setups which sux for this project lol

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX
Remote mount refures to not being in the engine bay. It's usually placed at the back of the car where the muffler would be. Really doubt you'd get any boost at all under 3K RPM on a remote mount unless it's small, and then you'll choke off at higher RPM.