not getting any boost out of my new 57 trim (long read)

boogum7

May 24, 2007
Oregon
so i know i needed a new turbo my old ct26 had tons of shaft play. I am a college student so i figured i could just go with a 57 trim for now.

Before the install:

Lots of shaft play, only a couple pounds of boost 3-4 (due to bad turbo, no leaks) ran fine, no issues and no codes that i was aware of. So one day it starts to smoke and bad. This was mostly during deceleration (don't know why) and sometimes when i was coming to a stop and downshifting to brake a some.

After install:

I got a hold of a rebuild ct26 that had been upgraded to the 57 trim. I installed the turbo with the help of a friend on the forums boosthpy. It was not to bad of an install, just the going back in that was hard :icon_bigg Ok so we finish with the install. Prime the turbo by pulling the efi fuse and cranking it until there was oil pressure (as informed to do on the forum i think). I finally pull the car out of the garage and start on the journey to let it warm up, once operating temperatures are reached it was time for our hard work to pay off. I put it into 2nd and take off. But to the surprise of me and passenger there was no boost. I try a few more pulls and nothing. We can hear the turbo sounding like it is going to spool and then nothing. We take it back to his house and pop the hood. No smoke, burning or overheating. We decide to call it a night. We figure ok it needs to be broken in. So i drive it home in the morning on the freeway. I only live 45 minutes away and here the freeway is 75 mph. So i am going about 75-80 mph on the way home. I try to do a few pulls to see what happens. I dont feel any boost, but the gauge moves from -4 to about -2 never any farther.

Today: