Need some expert emissions help! 87 B2200 Mazda Pickup

CyFi6

Aliens.
Oct 11, 2007
Phoenix
www.google.com
Well I recently bought myself a daily driver, it is a 1987 Mazda B2000 with a 2.2L B2200 engine in it. Its a nice little truck and was what I could afford. It is a bit rough but it will get me around while I work on my real car (Supra). Anywho, the truck failed emissions. Here are the readings.

HC Reading - 2.95
HC Limit - 3.0
HC- Pass
CO Reading-81.24
CO Limit-25.00
CO-FAIL
Nox Reading-3.14
Nox Limit- 4.50
Nox-Pass

CO is obviously very high. HC is high, but still passing. I figure that the engine is overfueling. Here is my issue...
The truck has a computer controlled carburetor. I will start off by saying I know very little about carbs (I know how the work, but I have no practical experience working with them). Add on the fact that there is a computer in the mix along with about 2 miles of vacuum line and I am at a loss where to begin with this thing. From what I understand, the system uses the o2 sensor to adjust a/f ratio using an "A/F Ratio Solenoid" within the carb. The specifics of how it works, I am unsure, but there are several VSV's for different functions such as decell fuel cut off, choke etc.

I need help with one thing specifically. I am looking in the service manual and have come across checking the duty cycle of the a/f solenoid. By looking at this, I can supposedly determine if the truck is in open loop, commanding rich, commanding lean etc. They are asking me to use a dwell meter in the check connector in the engine bay, and measure the duty cycle of the solenoid. I'm a little confused here, I have never used a dwell meter before, and as far as I knew duty cycle was measured in % not degrees? I have attached the illustrations.

"
  1. With engine already at normal operating temperature, start engine and run at 2,000 rpm for 1 minute, then let idle.

1. Connect a dwellmeter to the A/F check connector (Br/Y wire). Set meter to 4 cyl. scale.