MKIII Supra Build (Project John Doe)

DOHCtorB

Nov 17, 2009
Ohio
(Project John Doe)

This is my '87 supra that i picked up back in '09. It's my first build so I hope you all enjoy! Feel free to comment! (Criticism, constructive or not, is part of the fun.)

You can also check out my build story here www.qcarcodes.com/joe-born-main
Or even showcase your own, details at www.qcarcodes.com

Here is how my Supra looked right before I bought it. It had been sitting there for a couple years untouched, so it was time to save it ;) (I apologize for the horrible resolution, it was taken from a far and blown up.)

There was a long period of time that I worked on this thing, and didn't take any pictures. I regret that now, but what can you do?? So I did some research and this car originally was an n/a fully loaded with the 4.31 LSD rear end. The car was not original by the time I got my hands on it though. Someone had began swapping in a 7mgte and everything was butchered pretty bad (aside from the fact that it had an r154 with a new clutch.) After getting it running it had a bad rod knock, so it sat for a little while longer till I could get it going!

Finally I purchased a 7mge off of a good buddy of mine, and dropped it in with hopes of finally getting to drive this thing. After working through some electrical problems from sitting (corrosion on fuses in the kick panel and such) the car was running, and road worthy....or so I thought. The 1st/2nd shift fork broke after just a few miles...so back to sitting for a bit till i could line up another r154 without trading an arm and a leg to get it haha.