Looks like my turbo is a goner, what are some good options?

teedoff00

14 psi boost
Dec 5, 2007
Selah, WA
Hey Guys,

It's been a long while since I have posted, but I am getting back into the Supra as of late and been fixing and tracking down a few issues. I have been running a CT-26 60-1 Trim for the last 10 years, I had it rebuilt about 5 years ago and the car has around 2000 miles on it since. I have been having some smoking issues and after going through valve seals, pcv, etc I checked the turbo and its exhibiting some decent side-to-side shaft play, and there is a lot of oil in the intake/intercooler piping.

So... its time to move on.

What are the current best options? My only issues are... I'd like to have the turbo installed before the 8th of September. I plan on bringing my car to SIV and I have a tune appointment for a newly installed AEM V2 on the 8th.

What are my options? Bolt-on 57 trim from Driftmotion? Bolt-on 5531 or 5831 from SP Racing? Others? Or should I ditch the bolt-on all together and go with a t4 setup? The later may be asking for a lot given the short time frame.

Let me know you thoughts. Fortunately, I don't really have a budget for this, I just want something that will be a reliable street turbo that will give me comparable power and spool compared to the CT-26 60 Trim that I have. I drive this car mostly on the weekends and have never really taken it too the track.

Thanks!

Trevor

plaaya69

87T Supra
Nov 18, 2006
Lake County, IL
To me it sounds best to rebuild your current turbo. I usually hear bad things about the DriftMotion turbos from others that have bought them. I originally was going to go with a DM turbo kit but I ended up going with the precision 6262 Sound Performance bolt-on turbo which has been a very nice turbo and I have not owned it for that long but it puts smiles on everyone's face I let drive the Supra so far :)

What is your wheel hp goal you would like to be around?

teedoff00

14 psi boost
Dec 5, 2007
Selah, WA