JL Audio's new sub! 2.5" mounting depth!

chriso

Supranian
Apr 5, 2005
Bay Area, CA
BorHor said:
Pioneer has a similar sub that has been out for some time. It can be found for under $100 on ebay. iirc chriso has on in his car, he put it right on top of the spare tire on the ply wood.
Yup, sounds and works great. Look for the "shalow mount" subs on EBAY.

Nick Stonawski

Apr 2, 2005
Manhattan Beach
being a custom audio installer i can tell u that these "thin subwoofers" DO NOT hit as hard as u may think!

i installed a Pioneer "thin 12 inch sub" a few weeks ago and that thing hit like a baby locked in the trunk!!! TERRIBLE!!

careful what u get until u try it. i havnt heard the JL one yet but from my experience with these thin subs is a very big thumbs down.

as they say... "GO BIG OR GO HOME!" :naughty:

born2drv

Banned
Nov 1, 2005
Burbank, CA
I knew a guy who used 2 of the 12" thin pioneer subs in his truck and they sounded fantastic which is why I bought a pair but haven't installed yet. I'm not looking for a "150db shake the earth, look at me I'm a pimp" setup. I just want something that has good output and a flat response all the way down to 20Hz.

Spaniard

Banned
Oct 21, 2005
La pearla PR
born2drv said:
I knew a guy who used 2 of the 12" thin pioneer subs in his truck and they sounded fantastic which is why I bought a pair but haven't installed yet. I'm not looking for a "150db shake the earth, look at me I'm a pimp" setup. I just want something that has good output and a flat response all the way down to 20Hz.