JFG121 MKIII Build up

jfg121

wating for tuner
Jun 5, 2008
Johannesburg
Just joined the forum and thought that it would be prudent to introduce myself. I am a little new to Supras, but will need to pick up the slack as I just bought a 1988 MKIII N/A with a T26. Whoever did this mod, did a poor job and I will be rebuilding the car with a 7MGTE Engine, but still using the W58 transmission.

Otherwise, I live in South Africa, which does not have very many Supras and therefore will need to import most of my parts from the US. Not a big problem as I am from the States originally. At the moment, I am shopping for HKS CAMP parts. Will be in touch to see if any one knows where to get some.

I can help any one, please feel free to contact me. I will not be too much help with Supras, but can recommend some great holidays in SA.

Cheers,

jfg121

wating for tuner
Jun 5, 2008
Johannesburg
As for seeing many MKIIIs on the road, never have. Probably less than 20 in the country as they never came here. People had to import them from Japan or the UK. There are a few MKIVs in the country, but have seen about 3 in person. I ran into this supra by chance and got it for a good price. The average Joe does not know what they are. I knew the engine was stuffed, but assumed that I could rebuild it or buy a new one. I met a mechanic out here that knows the 7MGTE engine really well. He installs them into pick-up trucks as a conversion....pretty funny stuff, but people love them out here. He is the guy that will be doing my work for me as I don't have a shop only a garage with basic tools.

JDMMA70

Dec 4, 2006
Houston
Nice Nice and welcome, this thread needs pics.

P.S. is there a giant alien space craft floating above your head? Just Kidding.

jfg121

wating for tuner
Jun 5, 2008
Johannesburg