important 1JZ rear main seal question

collin_1jz

Mar 12, 2009
vancouver
Hey guys..

just picked up a 1JZ-GTE vvti motor.. and put it on my truck brang it home and when i got home i realized the entire engines oil basically is all over the bed, leaking out from the rear main seal, now the engine was tilted back slightly is it leaking because of that or because its gone? and if it is do you have to tear the whole engine down to get to it? im a semi noob when it comes to 1JZ / piston motors.. always been a rotary owner , kinda pissed about this because i just payed 2500 for a complete motor / 5spd trans setup with ecu and all....help me out guys

thanks

ahmed

Jan 31, 2009
cleveland
it should not leak no matter if its tilted... i never changed a rear main seal but i believe its as simple as pulled old one off and puttin new one in. dont think u have to remove the oil pan. but all u have to do is pry old one out and slowly and evenly tap new one in.
not 100 percent sure.

collin_1jz

Mar 12, 2009
vancouver
thank god. my friend said its pop out and in too and he can change it for me, lol. engines out so it should be easy and im changing the oil pan to rear sump anyways.

thanks

collin_1jz

Mar 12, 2009
vancouver
hmm update.. took a more careful look and saw it is NOT the rear main, its this thing below it.. not sure what it is. want to help me out?

p1283566_1.jpg

black thing below rms

collin_1jz

Mar 12, 2009
vancouver
oooooh ok i looked even more carefully and yes it is a window.. haha.. the angle the engine was dripping oil onto the rubber cover for the window so it looked like it was coming from there..stupid..so are the rear main seals with the 7m gte interchangable with the 1jz?

Ryan_V

Mar 1, 2009
Austin
Buy a full gasket kit from Jeff Watson at Champion Toyota, Houston, Tx.