Im Thinking Of Switching Oils And Weights

SupaMan

Want The Boooooossttttttt
Oct 12, 2006
Cape Coral,Florida
jdub i know ive knocked horns with you in the past saying how ill do as i believe and yadda yadda i took a short break from supramania on my own came back and after reading the oil section i feel the need to apolgize to you so im sorry for my ignorance. i also wanted to ask for advice ive been running royal purple 20w50 in my supra for good i dunno 10-12 months after switching from the prevouis owners pennzoil 15w40, I feel like my car is being held back by this heavier weight oil after reading some of your threads and driving the car its not how i remember it. I was thinking maybe 10w40 or somethin i dunno thats prolly still too thick, ive looked around for the german castrol i think it is and nobody seems to have it. one shop i called said they did have it until about a week ago and it wasnt being made anymore? what would you recommend brand and weight i know you like the 5w30's and stuff and castrol green or whatever it is (i keep forgetting its name) but im wondering what you think about royal purple and lucas and amsoil and such too.

jdub

Official SM Expert: Motor Oil, Lubricants & Fil
SM Expert
Feb 10, 2006
Valley of the Sun
Yeah...I remember that. I'll tell ya though, it takes a real man to realize what he's doing might not be the best. Good on ya ;)

You are correct, the German Castrol has dried up...AutoZone stopped carrying it so it's almost impossible to get. That is too bad...prolly the best oil they had on the shelf. I guess sales didn't support having it in inventory.

That really leaves us with 3 readily available choices...these are in order of preference IMO:
- Red Line - all of their oils are ester base stock...can't get better than that. Also has a robust additive pack. The oils I would use:
5W-30...excellent cold flow characteristics, viscosity is right where it needs to be hot as well.