i need some help

SBM713

Apr 24, 2007
Georgia
my 87 turbo is cutting out bad when i get to about 3000 rpm in 3rd and 4th gear. I checked my codes and i got code 52 which is the knock sensor and I dont know if the knock sensor would affect it like this. The car is running very rick which could be the knock sensor and i went and got a new fuel filter just in case its that so if anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated

p.s. i have almost no knowlege of the major problems that could cause this thanks for your help
Stephen

SBM713

Apr 24, 2007
Georgia
i have searched but cant find a post describing what my car is doing its like cutting in and out i guess it could be a fuel cut thats why I went and bought the fuel filter but I am new to these cars and was trying to see if anyone else has had similar problems and how they fixed it

hellraiser456

Dec 29, 2006
canada
when you knock sensors are out you are going to run rich. because the engine can't listen in on what it is doing...it will pull timing and run pig rich. the ecu does it so you don't destroy your motor. don't take my word on this but i don't think you will have fuel cut either...at least i didn't, or so it would seem.

i would fix your knock sensors and check for boost leaks. my car would just buck under boost and it felt gutless....even at psi's much over where the stock fuel cut should be. i usually ran at 10 psi and you would barely feel the turbo kick in at that. i fixed the knock sensors and there was a worlds difference in response and power. i run at 12 psi and that feels stronger than when my knock sensors where out and trying to boost to 16 psi....yea i was dumb about that.

SBM713

Apr 24, 2007
Georgia