HKS Fuel Cut Defencer, positive pressure = fuel cut!!!! help pls

kracin

Sleeper
Apr 1, 2007
aiea hawaii
well after installing my fuel cut defencer i rechecked and triple checked all my wires and the setting on the FCD. all 5 wires connected right *to the book at least unless im not understanding something*, it made it even easier that my safc2 uses the same wires as well so that goes on good. but if the fuel cut defencer is connected it will either sit at idle with an engine check light on (off of setting 3 or 12), but on setting 3 and 12 the car will hit fuel cut at any positive pressure in the manifold. how do i fix this!?!?!? i have no experience with a FCD but i did build the car from scratch, so any ideas will be extremely helpful. thank you all in advance

Last edited:

figgie

Supramania Contributor
Mar 30, 2005
Twin Cities, Minnesot-ah
hey kracin

my advice. Disconnect the FCD. If you did it right the "butt plugs" should rejoin the harness without the FCD in the way.

one thing you didn't mention

the FCD should not have ANY adjustmentes to it. If it does you have the wrong one.

kracin

Sleeper
Apr 1, 2007
aiea hawaii
what butt plugs are you talkin about, if you mean the snap connectors for the yellow and white, i know that they should create a loop going through the fcd and not just the fcd connected against the ecu

and the k3 fcd from hks has a dial adjustment on it, im not sure what the older style looked like or what it did, but this one has 1-12 for adjustments on it, apparently each one has a special resistor in that spot to adjust for a different cars boost pressure sensor and the third setting is supposedly used for mk3's