help with DIY on my 7MGE

MA70R

Mar 12, 2009
canberra
hey

im fairly new to doing any work on engines so i need help understanding what i need to do in order to assure that i dont do anything wrong.

i have a pre 89 MA70 supra with the 7MGE engine.

oil has been leaking into my spark plugs and ive been told that i need to re seal my rocker cover gasket and i dont even know where to start lol.

so basically if i could be guided through everything i need to do step by step and everything i should look out for in order to not damage anything that would be great. also any recommendations on things that will be required would be good. also i need new spark plugs so what would be the best spark plugs for my engine. and if i could have pics even to help me through what bolts need to be undone and what to look out for etc that would make it even easier for me as yea im fairly new to it.

thanks
Jamie

CRE

7M-GE + MAFT Pro + T = :D
Oct 24, 2005
Denver, CO
Oddly enough it wasn't said: If by re-seal the person/people you've spoken to meant replace the valve cover gaskets then yeah, they probably could use replacing if they're the originals; If they meant "just throw sum sillycone on ther and git r dun!" then no...

sparkplug619

2 Supras, 1 Paycheck =[
Sep 28, 2008
San Diego California
Also, zip lock baggies and a marker are always a good tool to keep your bolts organized. And dont forget to soak all the oil out before replacing the sparkplugs. This was also the first job I've ever done on a supra

Mastapip

Apr 20, 2009
Ft. Worth Tx
If you're talking about Valve cover gaskets, like CRE said, go with Toyota OEM gaskets. I got a set of Felpro gaskets, and they were too large and leaked oil all over the place. Also make sure you replace/reuse the grommets on top of the valve covers.

As for spark plugs, it's my opinion that you can't really go wrong with Platinum or higher. I've had Irridium and Platinum in my car, and I honestly couldn't tell the difference.

cuel