Heater Core O-ring Sealant?

suprageezer

Aug 27, 2005
Southern California
If you can get your hands on Silicone Orings use them, if not go Viton, and if no Viton and you have to go with stock, which is most likely plain old Buna Rubber, use Parker Oring Lube.

You can buy just about any size oring in just about any material at McMaster-Carr, they even have a material comparison chart showing chemical resitence and other info.

http://www.mcmaster.com/

Last edited:

landtoy80

Jul 16, 2007
grand junction, CO
On second guess, it might be a pain to get the sealant out of the tube if I have to fix it again...but if I have to do it again, its going to be all new OEM parts.

thedave925

Since 9/16/05
Nov 9, 2005
East Bay, Cali
lol
Crazy as it sounds, I put my business' reputation on the line when I wrap o-rings with a layer of teflon. I'm a plumber. 80% of the time it holds water pressure at 60psi for extended(years) periods of time. Its usually a last ditch effort.

I personally had to do this on my heater core because if it aint toyota, you get only the core and no hardline extensions, clips or fresh o-rings.
I rigged a pressure tester that held positive, and currently drive around with the windows down and the heater on blast. LOVE IT.

Above is an example of the coincidental intersection of fortune and practicality and and in no way am telling people that they SHOULD do it.

Its me being cheap(autozone core) and not being able to get to the right size o-rings:3d_frown: at the hardware store...

landtoy80

Jul 16, 2007
grand junction, CO
Got the core in and it leaks:cry: I did add a little sealant to the o-ring. The rad shop said it was leaking at the pipe with the old o-ring. Should of had the shop retest with new o-rings.
I think it is leaking from the o-ring but will no know till I pull it apart. I had to work hard to get the driver side pipe though the fire wall and that might be way its leaking.