Having trouble understanding 550cc injector swap into 2JZ

ifyouaint1sturlast

Banned Scammer - I'm whitemike.
Jun 14, 2011
Fort Myers/Cape Coral - Florida
As the title states, I am a bit confused. I run an Aristo swap (stock 440cc injectors) and I know that I can drop in some USDM 550's and wire in some resistors and everything will be gravy.

Why?

Why does this not flood the engine? You can't do this with any other setup without adjusting tune.. So why can you do it here?

Sorry for the dumb questions. I just hate chalking things up to "electronic magic", I like to have an understanding of why things do the things they do. I feel it helps in the long run.

Thanks

flight doc89

Registered Murse
Apr 21, 2006
Bessemer, Alabama, United States
My understanding (read: take this with a big damn grain of salt, cuz I'm not really experienced with this stuff): Engine fuel injector timing is based off a graph, or fuel map. Input 'x', output 'y'.

'x' = (MAP output)*(rpm)
'y' = output to injector

So, if you put in larger injectors, it should go rich, because that larger injector would spray more fuel for that same 'y' value.
This is where the resistors come in. If you resist the output from the MAP sensor (thus decreasing the voltage), the ECU interprets this as less air. So, with lower MAP output, the 'x' value is decreased, with a resulting decrease in 'y' value, or injector signal. As long as the resistance is correct, you can lower that 'y' value correctly to balance out the larger injectors and have a correct mixture.

If we have to decrease MAP signal to allow bigger injectors, then what is the purpose? This is the purpose: (I don't know the actual values, only the theory, so I am going to use theoretical values)