GT35R

keo

Apr 2, 2005
RI
im looking at a turbo (GT35R) was almost about to buy it.

i have a question how can you tell if its the Real Garret GT35R or some knock-off? What's the difference True Garret GT35R or GT35R spec turbo?

knowing me, i want the real deal holy-Keo Garret GT35R. How is a novoice (like me) gonna tell the difference?

thanks for your help.

suprahero

naughty by nature
Staff member
Aug 26, 2005
Roll Tide
The real one's cost about 1100-1600, I think. If someone is selling it for less than that it is probably a copy. I'm not a turbo expert, but maybe that will help you. We have a couple of turbo builders on here. PM one of them and they can help you.
dbsupra
mdcmotorsports
935motorsports

drjonez

Supramania Contributor
Mar 31, 2005
the motor city
www.4cefed.com
the best advice is stay FAR away from ebay. there are A LOT of sellers advertising GT35Rs that are NOT real. your best bet is to buy from a reputable + authorized garrett dealer (atpturbo.com, etc.). yes, they are expensive.

that said, here are pix of a REAL GT35R to use for comparison to others you might see:

http://mkiiitech.com/drj/blackcar/111205/

the real tip off is the "short" center section and water cooling.

supra87t/t4

Phase Two
Apr 9, 2005
MPLS, MN
Talk to one of the Dave's from boostwerx. They were going to give me a pretty good price on a GT35R with PTE housings.

Glen

dbsupra90

toonar
Apr 1, 2005
indiucky
i appreciate all the support guys!

and yes i sell them, both bb and non bb.

better still, since i sell thru precision i can get their custom housings as well which will open up a lot more a/r options.

dbsupra90

toonar
Apr 1, 2005
indiucky
drjonez said:
what's the smallest T4 turbine a/r they have?

i know we have .68 a/r since i just sold one to a member here last week. im almost certain i can get a .58 as well. i will double check and post back.