Got my first Supra. 7mge sugestions for rebuild Please.

stomis

NA Die Hard
Mar 22, 2010
Jersey Shore
Last night I got my very first supra. 87 white, non turbo, non tt, 5 speed. Has a cracked headgasket but drove the car home 80miles no problem. Everything works and shes in great shape especially for $500.

That being said I am new to supras but not to cars. I've been into domestics up until now except the 95 toy pickup I owned a few years ago.

As a disclaimer please dont say just turbo it blah blah blah. I've done ALOT of research before I even bought the thing and am fully aware of what its capable of reaching power wise NA.

The plans for the motor:
Find another 7mge in good shape.

Break it down, clean it up, and rebuild

New bearings, seals, and punch it over .060

Modification to bottom end will be a high volume oil pump, crank scraper, and pistons to achieve 10:1

Things I've been trying to find out: Who makes some decent pistons that arent $700? I know you get what you pay for and such but I come from the world of SBC's where a full rebuild kit is $700 for decent parts. I'm trying to achieve 10:1 as I said. I'd like to run 87 or 89 octane in it which I think wont be a problem with 12-14* base timing.

As far as the head goes I'll be gasket matching it and port and polishing at home. Brian Crower stage 2 daily driver cams, BBC springs and freshen the valves. Same goes for the intake plenums as far as port, polish, and gasket match.

It'll get a pacesetter 3-2-1 header, 2-1/2in exhaust and retain a resonator, cat, and muffler to keep her legal.

Other general mods I plan:
Fidanza light weight flywheel
Clutch which I'm open for recommendations on
Aluminum 1 pc driveshaft
eibach 1.5in lowering springs
solid sway bars

So basically its your typical 7mge stubborness of not wanting to swap to turbo :D

To recap questions here:
What pistons are a fair price but still decent quality for 10:1?