Gata be something better

giterboosted

cure for the common rice
Nov 3, 2007
toccoa ga
So I'm in search of a better clutch master cyl. I'm so tired of replacing once every year or two, is gere not an aftermarket one or maybe one from another car that will work? So frustrating

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
Try using a factory toyota one.

Also don't hold the clutch in for long periods of time and don't only press it down half way.

I've been using the same clutch master for 6 years and it was already on the car when I bought it.

Silver MK3

Jan 24, 2011
Madison, AL
I would try Toyota also if you are having a problem with aftermarket ones. I've had my AutoZone one for three years now and it is fine. I didn't even think about getting one from Toyota when I got mine, but so far so good.

hvyman;1988572 said:
Try using a factory toyota one.

Also don't hold the clutch in for long periods of time and don't only press it down half way.

I've been using the same clutch master for 6 years and it was already on the car when I bought it.

Why do you say to not hold the clutch for long periods of time and not to press it down half way? I'm just curious.

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
It wears the seals by holding it down.

Iirc it's bad for the pressure plate by only partially pushing it down. Also clutch if it slipping.

Silver MK3

Jan 24, 2011
Madison, AL
hvyman;1988597 said:
It wears the seals by holding it down.

Iirc it's bad for the pressure plate by only partially pushing it down. Also clutch if it slipping.

I didn't know that about the seals, that's good to know. That makes sense with pushing it only halfway that it would be bad for everything, not just the master cylinder.

Sep 7, 2009
Cambridge
I'm guilty of this^, its how i was taught..

be in gear at an intersection (even at red) in case a real quick reaction is required...

giterboosted

cure for the common rice
Nov 3, 2007