Faye from Portland, OR

Faye

where's my tiara?
Apr 30, 2013
San Antonio, TX
www.youtube.com
Hello everybody :)
Been lurking on this site for over 2 years now, and decided to join now that I own my first Supra. My name is Lafayette (Faye for short, since Lafayette is a dude's name, clears things up a bit) and I live, work, and go to school in Portland, Oregon. I am an Automotive technology student at a local community college full time, and work as an "entry level tech" (aka oil change, fluid flush and brake slave) at an independent shop, specializing in import cars: mainly VW and Subaru, but I get to see the occasional Honda and Toyota of course. :) My coworkers call me "the crazy cat lady of cars" because I tend to personify and get overly-attached to my vehicles (thus, I have 4), want to take home and care for all of the abused customer vehicles that I service at work, and will go weeks of eating nothing but peanut butter sandwiches after spending my entire paycheck on parts. *sigh*

I started out my car enthusiast life from the womb, but really didn't touch my first wrench until I picked up a 1980 diesel VW rabbit that I purchased in 2008 and promptly blew up the motor about a month later. Having not enough money to buy a new car, (and not the heart to sell "Gaia" as I named her, to the scrap demons) I decided to buy a set of tools for myself from the Sears Father's Day tool sale instead. One thing lead to another, to another, and well... here I am. Several engine builds later on that car, and now she's actually shop-bound once more for the final touches to an engine swap from a '96 GTI that I finished rebuilding ... oh ... about 6 months ago (I am slow at the whole "wiring part") :p

p1949418_1.jpg