Engine won't rev when set at 10 Degrees BTDC.

1988MK3

Sep 14, 2010
Coralville, IA
So I just finished my rebuild and have had the engine running. It idles rough and won't rev at all when I have the ignition timing set to 10 Degrees, it just stumbles and almost dies. I have advanced the ignition anywhere from 15-20 degrees and it will finally rev up. Is it okay to be running 15-20 degress BTDC? I have read to set the timing to 10 degrees. I use the jumper in the diagnostic block fyi. The CPS has been installed according to the directions, but the prong on the shaft does not line up with the inductor (not sure of the correct name) when the engine is at 0 and cams are straight up. I even turned the CPS back a tooth and it still wouldn't line up. I have done a ton of searching through the forums here, but I can't find my answer. I don't have any vacuum leaks that I can find. Everything is hooked up the way it came apart. I am new to supras, but I am not new to cars. I have an associates in automotive Tech and worked at a dealership for a few years. I quit that job 6 years ago and have been away from cars for that long as well, so I have forgotten tons of useful info. You guys gotta help me out!

Also, My Apexi Neo won't allow to select the Karmen option and doesn't show a Karmen voltage/any type of reading. Is this a problem? I installed a "new" (used from ebay) AFM from the Lexus (22204-42011) into my car, but didn't make any difference.

I am at my wits end here guys. I have jammed a ton of money into this car and I just want it to give me a boner instead my killing my buzz. Any help will be appreciated and I thank you guys for all the info I have already learned from SupraMania.

Here are my mods:
Brian Crower stage 2 cams, set right now at 3 degrees advance on exhaust and Intake. (any help on what I should set camsB at would be appreciated)
JE Pistons. .040 over
Eagle Rods
Titan 2MM MHG
Rebuilt Head, 3 angle valve job, not ported
Lexus AFM
Apexi Neo