Datsun 240z vs fc rx7 race car?

maxburn

Jan 12, 2014
Iowa
Hey guys, I was wondering for SCCA or NASA which car would be more competitive in their possible brackets. I'm looking to start racing once I get a car and set it up. I'm really new to this, but I've always wanted to race. I'd appreciate any tips or thoughts on which car or bracket to start in as it will help me tremendously.

maxburn

Jan 12, 2014
Iowa
hvyman;1999050 said:
Rx7 will handle better.
That would be nice. I've also heard that the abs would be good for racing as well as long as I get a brake proportioning valve. Are there any benefits to the 240z i see them running in a lot of scca races

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
I don't see one over the fc. Fc has a short whose wheel base and prolly a 50/50 weight ratio with the rotary and is pretty light and a better suspension. Also all kind of availble parts for it.

maxburn

Jan 12, 2014
Iowa
Sounds like the rx7 is would be a really good car for this then haha. Do you think that it will be competitive as long as its modded to class spec?

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
I think it would. A good running 13bt and suspension mods with good tires and it should handle like a slightly bigger miata.

IJ.

Grumpy Old Man
Mar 30, 2005
I come from a land down under
hvyman;1999075 said:
I don't see one over the fc. Fc has a short whose wheel base and prolly a 50/50 weight ratio with the rotary and is pretty light and a better suspension. Also all kind of availble parts for it.
This!

As much as I loved my Z it doesn't compare to an FC.

Atlas

You call this a sandwich?
Aug 22, 2012
Clovis CA