Computer Help

L

lanky189

Ok I'm not computer expert. I'm no computer novice. I point and click and I'm happy.

We upgraded our computer from an HP to an Emachine (keep the laughter to a minimum) our HP had some valuable info on it but the HP will not boot.. for anything. Is there a way to add the old Harddrive from the HP in our Emachine cabinet, and hook it up so we can access it?

Thanks a bunch
Matthew

Justin

Speakers?
Mar 31, 2005
Spokane, Wa
what operating systems are both running?

you can pull the hdd out of the old one and put it in the new one and access the files fromthe new computer (Most likley)

mkiiSupraMan18

Needs a new username...
Apr 1, 2005
United States
What he said, thats what I did anyway. Plus, then you'll have an extra harddrive to store all your "supra" pics/vids on... Not that thats what I did.

L

lanky189

windows running both.

my problem is getting both to boot up.

They are both hooked up. the main hd as the master the other as the slave....

btw..the old hd was an older version of windows.. 98 i think...

Justin

Speakers?
Mar 31, 2005
Spokane, Wa
ok, that's fine... to my knowladge, any windows o/s can read a FAT32 file system, so reading it should be okay dokay :)

what's the problem getting'em to boot/ what error do youget/

Supra Blues

Virgin Booster
Mar 30, 2005
Supramania
Yeah, sounds like you got it hooked up correctly, but also, did you change the settings in the CMOS? (I think that is what it is still called) Sometimes that can affect things.

So with both HDD's in the Emachine, no booty?

I'd check the CMOS.

When you boot it up doesn't say somehting like "press del to enter setup"?
If it does do it, and find the standard cmos settings. You should see somthing like "primary boot drive" and "primary master" "primary slave" "secondary master" "secondary slave".