Carrier bearing or 1-piece driveshaft?

Status
Not open for further replies.

soulrebelz

May 4, 2011
Grayson, GA
Just bought an '87 Supra Turbo on Saturday. By Sunday afternoon, it was clattering as I shifted through the gears. From everything I have read, I am guessing the carrier bearing needs to be replaced. Should I replace it or should I just replace the driveshaft with a 1-piece??? I know that there is tons of info on this already, but I am a newbie here and I need to post... :icon_bigg Thanks!

suprarx7nut

YotaMD.com author
Nov 10, 2006
Arizona
www.supramania.com
GrimJack;1709527 said:
Before you do anything else, jack up the car, slide under there, and make sure the bolts from the driveshaft to the rear diff are on tight. And present, for that matter.

Agreed. I've experienced loose drive shaft bolts and it shudders and chatters just like you might expect the carrier to do.

A quick check and wrench may solve your problem.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

Enraged

A HG job took HOW long??
Mar 30, 2005
Victoria, BC, Canada
search for the ford ranger center carrier bearing thread. you can find them for $40-75, so if you are on a budget, it is quite a bit cheaper than a one piece driveshaft.

tsupranami

Drain Bamaged
Mar 11, 2006
Eastern WA
#1 advantage is never having to replace that carrier bearing again.

Other advantages include: better tourque dampening during launch and shifts; lightweight benefits include less rotational mass, easier to balance and maintains balance better, less wear on bearings in tranny and rear end and u-joint.

Poodles

I play with fire
Jul 22, 2006
Fort Worth, TX
tsupranami;1710159 said:
#1 advantage is never having to replace that carrier bearing again.

Other advantages include: better tourque dampening during launch and shifts; lightweight benefits include less rotational mass, easier to balance and maintains balance better, less wear on bearings in tranny and rear end and u-joint.