Career searching

Phantom

Dec 9, 2005
Los Angeles
This is a long post, so there is summary at the bottom for those that are interested.

Well, before I start my discussion, I would like to say this is not a "hater" post of some sort, or at least it's not suppose to be. I'm just saying how it is. I guess it's more like a vent, but I don't have anger towards anyone. Just wanting to say what's on my mind.

Basically, I'm in my last year of college and will be graduating as a finance major in about a semester. I have done a lot of work to prepare myself for a career and find a summer internship (resume writing, workshops to help prepare students for job fairs, attending job fairs, and other little things in addition to searching for internship or part-time opportunities). It's been like having another class for the last couple of months and after dropping off my resumes at many companies (Enterprise Rent A Car, Toyota Motor Sales, Ameriprise Financial, Northwestern Financial Mutual Network, Bank of America, among other companies), pretty much they either aren't interested and don't call me back or they are looking for people that are graduating this semester and able to work full time. And some companies I realized that it was mostly sales position and cold-calling, which is not my thing, not the mention that sometimes the interview process is so many steps and the few amount of position available is not worth the effort. So basically, I am back where I started. I gained not much else besides a few interview experiences. I interviewed for Kohl's, passed the first interview and got rejected after the second (and final) interview, which is okay since I realized I don’t want a management-only internship. Also, I realized what jobs I like (salary based and not a commission only type, at least for the time being).