Are there advantages to running a destroked 7M?

Ma70.Ent

Supramania Contributor
Feb 26, 2006
NJ
For both turbo and N/A purposes, are there any advantages? I'm not too good with these types of engine concepts so knowing this would be nice. I don't understand the whole high revving craze and I have no idea why it could be advantageous. What's the point of losing torque to gain revs, etc? If you could answer this in-depth, that would be great. Thanks for your time :D

bmoss85

Permanently Banned Scammer
Apr 14, 2007
clemmons, nc
it really depends on what you are using the engine for, and where you want to make your power. destoked engines usually lose some power on the bottom end, but make up for it on top with the extra rpms its able to turn. i cant say a whole alot about the turbo application of this though, as most of the engines i have built have been chevys.

Adjuster

Supramania Contributor
In general theory, if you are building a motor, you can tailor the bore v/s the stroke for the vehicle the engine is going to be run in.

A "Square" engine is one where the bore and stroke are about the same. (Or are the same.) It generally results in an engine that is quite well rounded, depending on the displacement of the engine.

The 7M is a stroker motor from the factory. It has a longer stroke than bore, and thus was/is a good engine for making tourqe, but is somewhat limited in how high the engine speed can go without causing terminal damage to something. (Rods)

Destroked, and thus lower displacement 7M's have been built that made serious power at high rpm. (HKS did it on the 80's MK3 based drag race car.. 9 second or better IIRC on 2.8L and custom everything.)

The JZ engines are also shorter stroke, and more "square" designs than the 7M. They allowed for a shorter stroke by having a larger bore to keep the displacement ability of the design capable of 2.5 or 3.0L and still have a motor that can turn quite fast with less stress on the rods.