24 Hours of Lemons Build

jstricker

Sep 10, 2010
Kansas
You've all seen the coverage in different online and print publications and thought to yourselves "that would be pretty cool to do with a Supra". Well, I did the same thing except I've been doing it for abotu 3 years.

First a bit of history. A few years ago a friend in CA contacted me and said he wanted me to help with getting a Supra ready for the 24 Hours of Lemons at Thunderhill. I knew little to nothing about Supras but I've been building race engines for over 30 years so I figured what the heck. We already had a closed course/open road race car of our own so this was going to be something for fun. They pulled the engine out of the N/A '87 car and shipped it to me to rebuild. We were moderately successful at the first outing finishing somewhere in the mid-20's position after having a rod bolt break with less than 15 minutes left in a 4 hour race.

I found another engine here in KS and bought it, went through it as well, leaving it bone stock except for the addition of ARP rod bolts and adding 20 ft/lbs when torquing the head bolts. (We've found for these long endurance races that you don't have to be the fastest car out there, just keep going and going and going and stay OUT of the penalty box.

Our next effort was at Houston where we finished in the top ten. This was followed by a 4th, a 6th, and most recently a 2nd overall and first in class at Omaha. The team grew to two cars and that caused some problems among the team members as to who was actually calling the shots and running the team. I'm not to proud to admit that many of the problems were on my side as I felt I needed more input after having a huge investment in time and money in this endeavor with two cars and feeling I didn't have a fair amount of input on several issues.