very good information here

supraturbotimmy

Dec 19, 2006
uk
hi well it is very nice to see a section that most people wouldn't bother with, just to say the information on here is very clear and correct, i have many years experience in the oil industry i worked for FUCHS lubricants aka silkolene and was the manager for oils and lubrication at honda uk manufacturing. this was for the whole manufacturing site. if they wanted to know what went in anything they asked me. if any has any questions for me just ask :)

jdub

Official SM Expert: Motor Oil, Lubricants & Fil
SM Expert
Feb 10, 2006
Valley of the Sun
Thanks for the kind words...I just might take you up on the offer. Some of the European oils are starting to show up here in the US ;)

suprageezer

Aug 27, 2005
Southern California
Although it's not a supra related question I do have some question's for you as far as your Honda experience goes. I have a 2004 Honda XR400 Dirt Bike, the oil that's recommended is Honda GN4 or HP4 4-stroke oil or equvalent motor oil, API service classification: SF or SG, Viscosity 10W-40 or 20W-50. I have been told I need this oil due to an additives package needed for the cams in the engine. My question is what makes this oil different and is there a better substitute than the Honda Oil?

supraturbotimmy

Dec 19, 2006
uk