Turbo map help

Pyro15D

kind of a lucky dude
Aug 24, 2008
Whidbey Island, Washington
I had a question about reading compressor maps. I think I did this right but would like someone more knwledgeable on the subject help me out. This is a Boss Jr 60-1 turbo. I don't know if all 60-1 compressors are the same across the board; I just found this in google images and edited it in paint. Anyway, according to the thread on how much the 7m breathes under boost, I took the numbers from there and plotted them on the chart, using my datalog as a reference for boost/rpm. I got full 20psi boost pressure at 3900 rpms and it held till I shifted at 6200 rpms. My intake temp was between 55-57 degrees F (not that it makes any difference for this) and my AFR's at 20psi were pretty solid at 11:1. Anyway, judging from the chart I made, how well sized is the turbo? It almost looks to be on the small side, but like I said, I'm not very experienced with this.
Turbo-t4-60-1.jpg

Suprapowaz!(2)

Apr 10, 2006
San Antonio, Tx.
Plot the same points on a T61 and you'll be pleasantly surprised. It's been known to be a good match for the 7mgte. Unfortunately, does not bolt onto the stock manifold. It's a T4 turbo. It's old technology too, as many here would point out. Still a good match.

t61.gif

Pyro15D

kind of a lucky dude
Aug 24, 2008
Damn that is a really good match. Just for shits and giggles, I plotted those points on the compressor map of my little brother's S366 as well and it looked alright too. Why don't people recommend the s366 on the 7m? I might have to break down and go T4 I guess! The T61 looks very promising.

hvyman

Dang Dude! No Way Man.
Staff member
Apr 17, 2007
Fullerton,CA
the 366 is a 66mm. Its good for higher hp 7m. The 360 is a 60mm and prolly be a good match for where your at with the boss jr. and the s363 is a 63mm. SX300 is the bw turbo line up for those sizes. there is also a s362 fmw with there billet compressor wheel fromt he efr series.