Steel DBB vs Ceramic TBB?

tekdeus

Pronounced Tek-DAY-us
Jan 23, 2006
Vancouver Canada
www.bitrontech.com
The new Comp Turbo triple ceramic ball bearing technology sounds impressive, and if ceramic is 60% lighter, then it should improve spool speed as well. How long have ceramic ball bearings been on the market? How is the reliability compared to steel ball bearings?

Just wondering if I should go with the tried and true steel DBB GT35R, or consider one of the new Comp TBB turbos?

GrimJack

Administrator
Dec 31, 1969
Richmond, BC, Canada
idriders.com
I don't know about ceramic in this particular application, but I've been using ceramic ball bearings in other areas for a couple decades now, and it's widely regarded as superior to steel everywhere else.

Turbo Drifter

Dec 8, 2005
Surrey, BC Canada
Turbonetics used or may still use ceramic ball bearings in there turbos. I know for a long time they had problems with reliability. I can not see a triple ball bearing turbo being of any benefit. If anything I would expect to see more frictional loss with a triple ball bearing. I guess there making up for that with the ceramic.

One thing you need to remember with any ball bearing turbo is clean oil at all times. DBB turbos and I'm sure TBB turbos are very susceptible to contaminated oil. I would say 90% of the failed DBB turbos I would see were from bad oil.

I feel that the GT35R is a good choice for any moderate setup. The other option is a DBB T61 similar size and components but lacking the GT turbine wheel.

tekdeus

Pronounced Tek-DAY-us
Jan 23, 2006
Vancouver Canada
www.bitrontech.com
Would a pre-turbo oil filter be a good idea? Provided it was checked and cleaned very regularly? I know they can starve turbos of oil if neglected.

Any reason to choose something else without the GT turbine wheel? Still learning about these things.

Turbo Drifter

Dec 8, 2005
Surrey, BC Canada
tekdeus;1182965 said: